clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Best Georgia Architecture of 2016 Unveiled

New, 1 comment

AIA Georgia Design Awards recognize great designs of the year

Who says everything being built around Atlanta these days is blah?

Saturday night, the Georgia chapter of the American Institute of Architects hosted their annual Design Awards Ceremony at Millennium Gate. The event highlighted the best-of-the-best of Georgia architecture as decided by a panel of jurors, as well as the winners of the people's choice award.

Three categories of projects were recognized during the program, including Design + Innovation, Built; Design + Innovation, Unbuilt; and Student Project. Drumroll, please ...

And the winners were:

Design + Innovation, Built

  • Excellence Award - Georgia BioScience Training Center, Atlanta, designed by Cooper Carry
  • Excellence Award - Drew Charter School, Atlanta, designed by Perkins+Will. (Click link for photo tour).
  • Honor Award - Northwest Library at Scotts Crossing, Atlanta, designed by Collins Cooper Carusi Architects
  • Merit Award - Clayton State University Science Building, Morrow, designed by S/L/A/M Collaborative
  • Merit Award - Western Michigan University, Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine on the W.E. Upjohn Campus, Kalamazoo, designed by S/L/A/M Collaborative
  • Merit Award - Palmetto Library, Palmetto, designed by Houser Walker Architecture
  • Merit Award - Paty Modern Residence, Atlanta, designed by LIGHTROOM
  • Merit Award - Cardlytics at Ponce City Market, Atlanta, designed by Smith Dalia Architects
  • Merit Award - Georgia Institute of Technology, Engineered Biosystems Building, Atlanta, designed by Cooper Carry
  • People's Choice Award - Georgia State University College of Law, Atlanta, designed by Stevens & Wilkinson. (Click link for photo tour).

Design + Innovation, Unbuilt

  • Merit Award - Sinuosity, Atlanta, designed by Max Neiswander and Luke Kvasnicka with BLUR Workshop
via Midtown Alliance

Student Project

  • Merit Award & People's Choice Award - O2O4W: Oxygen House in the Old Fourth Ward District, Atlanta, designed by Laura Sherman of Kennesaw State University
  • Merit Award - The Oxygen Pavilion, Atlanta, designed by Katrina Alano of Kennesaw State University
  • Merit Award - International Living Future Institute, Southeast Headquarters, Atlanta, designed by William Lentjes of Kennesaw State University